The Governor of the Bank of Albania

Pursuant to Article 53, Law "On the Bank of Albania" No. 8269, dated 23.12.1997, the Governor shall serve as the Chief Executive Officer of the Bank of Albania in charge of the day-to-day business of the Bank of Albania and Chairman of the Supervisory Council of the Bank of Albania.

The Governor shall be responsible to the Supervisory Council for the execution of its decisions, including the implementation of monetary, credit, and exchange rate policies, and for the direction, control and supervision on Bank of Albania administration and operations. In particular, the Governor is vested the power to take all actions required or deemed advisable by him for the administration or operations of the Bank of Albania.

The Governor is appointed by the Assembly of the Republic of Albania on the basis of the proposal of the President of the Republic. The term of the Governor shall be seven years, and he may be eligible for reappointment.

Mr. Gent Sejko was appointed as the Governor of the Bank of Albania on 5 February 2015 and at the same time is the Chairman of its Supervisory Council. Governor Sejko was re-elected by the Parliament of the Republic of Albania for a second term on 24 February 2022, upon the Decree of the President of the Republic of Albania.


Bank of Albania former Governors:

Ardian Fullani (October 2004 - September 2014)

Prof. Dr. Shkëlqim Cani (August 1997 - October 2004)

Qamil Tusha (April 1997 - August 1997)

Kristaq Luniku (December 1994 - April 1997)

Dylber Vrioni (September 1993 - December 1994)

Ilir Hoti (May 1992 - September 1993)